Connect with us

Human Rights

Shocking Number of Sex Scandals in Scottish Parliament



200 cases of sexual abuses in the Scottish parliament have been reported which shocked the authorities. After what happened in the Westminster and the sex scandals which were revealed in it, a survey group was sent to the entire office in Holyrood.

The result of the survey showed that 30% of women complained about the sexual harassment they experienced in the Parliament. To make it worse, from the 137 people who said they had been sexually harassed, 45% reported that they were misconducted by a Member of Scottish Parliament (MSP).

Complaining that most of the abuses were started to happen since the 2016 election, many of them resigned from working in Parliament. Pinching, groping the victim’s bottom, groping their breasts, grabbing at their crotch and kissing were among the allegations attributed to the MSPs.

According to the results, the Holyrood perpetrators were mostly male, and usually they were in a position of authority. These misbehaviors in parliament made so many women reluctant to work in such places.

Ken Macintosh, the Holyrood’s presiding officer, said that the numbers “make for difficult reading.” “For an institution which prides itself on openness, inclusivity and on having progressive working practices, a number of the findings make for difficult reading,” he said. “I am sorry that people have experienced this type of behavior while working here. I am determined to address this.”

A group of Party leaders started to take a “zero-tolerance” approach to sexual harassment. They want to eradicate sexual abuses from the Scottish parliament. The first Minister Nicola Sturgeon said everyone working at Holyrood must consider “how they use the power they hold and whether their behavior lives up to the high standards that we should all expect.”

The Scottish Tory leader Ruth Davidson has also said: “In response, the Scottish Conservatives intend to put in place new measures to make clear the standards we expect from elected and non-elected members.”